Leave a comment

By Request

A while ago my cousin said he’d been drinking Rush Limbaugh’s Kool-Aid (his words, although I managed an LOL Freudian “Kook-Aid” typo in the first draft) and asked me why I favoured Barack Obama over Mitt Romney. Since we’re down to the wire and since I have an extra hour this weekend, I’m going to use it to answer my cousin’s question.

The observant among my readers might note I’ve used the Canadian spelling of “favoured.” Neither I nor my cousin are American citizens, but like many Canadians with an interest in politics, we follow the American political scene.

A large part of the delay in answering my cousin is that there are so many reasons for opposing Mitt Romney, I can’t begin to touch on them all. I’ve given myself an hour for research (I don’t write off the top of my head), writing and revision (I’m of the “a good piece is not written, it is rewritten and rewritten and rewritten” school of writing). So let’s see what I can cover, in no particular order, given these constraints.

1. Romney’s record as Governor. Thank goodness Obama is finally calling Mitt Romney to account on his record as Governor of Massachusetts.  Under Romney, the state was 47th in job creation, the infrastructure had been neglected, and it has been said that he was away from the state more often than he was there during his last year as Governor. Comments such as these don’t inspire confidence:

“His economic record was uninspired. They never developed an economic strategy nor implemented a coherent set of initiatives that would improve the state’s business climate.” 

“People had very high hopes for him as governor. He’s extremely bright, talented, and involved in business. In the end, he showed no loyalty to the state he was elected to run.”

2. Lies Mitt Romney told us.  Even after Chrysler’s president denied Mitt Romney’s claim that Jeep was going to be sold to the Italians and jobs shipped off to China, Romney has continued to run the ad with the spurious information designed to mislead and frighten American voters.  I have to include Business Insider’s Mitt Romney Has Been Telling A Huge Whopper About The Auto Industry, And His Campaign Is Finally Paying For It.

3. “Trickle down economics is bunk.Or as I once heard, that’s the problem; it just comes down in a trickle. The middle class is contracting while the wealthy become wealthier. The rich should pay their fair share. And how objective is a multi-millionaire on this matter anyway?

4. Win-at-any-cost GOP practices: “Even now, many Republicans are assembling teams to intimidate voters at polling places, to demand photo ID where none is required, and to cast doubt on voting machines or counting systems whose results do not go their way.”

5. Romney’s denial of Climate Change. Hurricane Sandy isn’t the only indicator. Arctic ice is melting at a pace that exceeds the expectations of the most pessimistic climate change scientist. Nonetheless, I can’t resist throwing this post-Sandy zinger in.

6. Romney said in the past that he would not fund FEMA. I’m sure he’s distancing himself from that position now, or at least ignoring it, as he has changed so many of his policies. Which leads me to…

7. Would the real Mitt Romney please stand up? A corollary to the win-at-any-cost tactics, Mitt has been roadrunner-racing to the centre on a number of issues in order to win votes.

8. Romney’s Ryan’s Economic Plan would be a disaster. No one says it  better than Robert Reich.

9. There is so much more. However, I’ve gone way over my budgeted time. I know I’m open to criticism that I’ve relied heavily on Robert Reich. Shall we say that for today he’s my Rush Limbaugh? I’m not sure how that works as I can see very little comparison. Anyway, it’s my post and I’ll use who/whom I wanna. I’m going to give Reich the final word with this summary of Mitt Romney’s world view. That alone is enough for me!

Leave a Reply

